Friday, March 14, 2014

A Look at the Basic Education Requirements for a Real Estate License

To become a licensed real estate agent in Texas from a real estate school like you must meet a predetermined amount of education. Currently, the state of Texas requires 240 hours of course work.

The required courses must include sixty hours of Principles of Real Estate, thirty of hours of Law of Agency, Law of Contracts and one additional core course which may be selected by the applicant. In addition, another sixty hours of either core or related courses must be completed.
For a complete list of core real estate courses. Related courses can be found at

Once the applicant has completed the educational requirements a certificate of completion or credit transcript must be submitted to the Texas Real Estate Commission; along with a $30.00 fee. These documents will then be evaluated by the Commission, a process which may take up to ten days, after which point an application for the real estate license can be filed. The application may not be submitted during the evaluation. The applicant must wait until it has been completed.